Monday Musings | Book Trailers

Source: Knopfdoubleday Youtube Channel

I’m not sure when exactly book trailers started becoming a thing but it is definitely becoming an increasingly popular way for publishers and authors to promote their new books. In case you’re not familiar with the concept, book trailers are similar to movie trailers in that they give their audience a small snippet of what to expect. In this case, instead of promoting a movie, they’re there to promote books. There are no limits to how these trailers are presented; they can be text-only videos, they can be humorous (like the book trailer for B.J. Novak’s One More Thing, embedded above), they can be like movie trailers.  The thing that I love about book trailers is that it has, for the most part, worked really well in getting me excited about new releases. For example, I just saw the book trailer for Kiera Cass’ The One and was immediately drawn into the world that is shown in the video. The beautiful gown, intriguing dialogue, and wistful looks were enough to make me want to look into the series, despite not having a particularly large interest in it before. Such is the power of book trailers.

Book trailer for The One by Kiera Cass (Source: Epic Reads)

However, for me, the one downside to book trailers is that I never know if anything is going to be spoiled. I know that publishers and authors try very hard to make sure nothing is spoiled, but you can never know. I can also be resistant to book trailers because I don’t want to have preconceived notions of how certain characters look. Granted, neither of these things has happened to me yet, but I have abstained from watching certain book trailers until I’ve finished the book in the past.

So, my question to you this week is this: Do you like the idea of having book trailers? Do you watch them/find them useful in helping you decide whether to pick up a book? As always, I’m so excited to hear what everyone thinks of this topic so let me know!

Ps. For those who haven’t read One More Thing and are nervous to watch the book trailer: don’t be! It’s hilarious and really shows of B.J. Novak’s humorous side. No spoilers, I promise!

6 thoughts on “Monday Musings | Book Trailers

  1. Naomi says:

    For the most part, I don’t watch book trailers. I have seen a few, including One More Thing, when they are going around, usually because they are especially good. One More Thing’s trailer was funny. But I’ve also seen some bad ones. For example, I didn’t really like any of the ones they made for the Canada Reads books this year. I also worry, like you, that it will mess up what I would be picturing in my head, but movies made from books can do that too. So far, anyway, they haven’t done anything for me.

    Nice library in the book trailer above!

    • kmn04books says:

      Ooh, I didn’t see the ones made for Canada Reads. Now I want to see it out of curiosity. Isn’t the library gorgeous? I wish I had bookshelves like that. Thanks for your comment 🙂

  2. Charleen says:

    I’m not a fan of book trailers. Granted, I haven’t seen many, but the ones I have were kind of hokey… maybe they’re not so bad now. But I’d still rather read a description than watch a trailer.

  3. M. says:

    I’ve only watched a couple of book trailers. There were some that were definitely on the hokey side, but I did like the one John Le Carre did for A Delicate Truth and the one for Little Failure by Gary Shteyngart was brilliant and totally hilarious (not to mention packed with cameos – James Franco, notably). I think it really depends on the budget and the concept – and I agree on not really wanting to have the characters shown to me. I also enjoy creating my own image of them as I read. So I guess I don’t have a solid stance on them – it’s more a case-by-case thing for me!

    • kmn04books says:

      That’s true. Overall I think I judge them on a case-by-case basis too. I think it was a really smart idea though! The concept definitely can make or break the trailer for sure.

Leave a Reply

