April 2014

One More Page Monthly Summary April 2014

Hi everyone! What another great month it has been! I read a lot of books and made a lot of new friends this month (hello to everyone who is new to One More Page…!) and I couldn’t be more excited about it. So how did I do this month?

Books bought:

*Lord of the Flies by William Golding
*All That is Solid Melts Into Air by Darragh McKeon
*The Other Typist by Suzanne Rindell
*Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
*Twelve Years a Slave by Soloman Northup
*The Word Exchange by Alena Graedon
*All My Puny Sorrows by Miriam Toews
*Skim by Mariko and Jillian Tamaki
*Starters by Lissa Price
*Lullabies for Little Criminals by Heather O’Neill

Books received:
*The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin (from Penguin Canada for review)
*Then and Always by Dani Atkins (from Penguin Canada for review – thank you!)
*Great by Sara Benincasa (won from HCC Frenzy’s Twitter contest – thank you!)
*Listen to the Squawking Chicken by Elaine Lui (won from Random House Canada’s Twitter contest – thank you!)

Books read:

*Hey Nostradamus! by Douglas Coupland (Review)
*The Word Exchange by Alena Graedon (Review)
*All My Puny Sorrows by Miriam Toews (Review)
*Skim by Mariko and Jillian Tamaki
*Starters by Lissa Price (Review to come)
*Lullabies for Little Criminals by Heather O’Neill
*The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin (Review)
*Then and Always by Dani Atkins (Review to come)
*Great by Sara Benincasa (Review)
*Listen to the Squawking Chicken by Elaine Lui (Review to come)

All My Puny Sorrows by Miriam Toews Signed

One of the highlights of my month was definitely meeting Alena Graedon and Miriam Toews at the weekly International Festivals of Authors (IFOA) events. I had read and loved both of their books and it was such an honour to meet them in person! I definitely have to learn how to tone down the “fangirliness” though, because I was so starstruck the whole time I could barely tell them how much I loved their books! Have you had a similar experience?

Another really great thing (besides all the great books I read!) were the new opportunities that have come up for me. One big news is thatΒ I will be participating in the Then and Always blog tour in May! I absolutely loved the book and I can’t wait to share my thoughts with you all. Hey, keep your eyes peeled because I might have something else to share with you too… (hint: I’m talking about a giveaway. *wink*)

Anyway, enough about me! How was your April? Did you read any great books? Have you read any of the books I read this month? Also, how do you get over your nervousness when meeting authors? I could definitely use some tips! Let me know!

12 thoughts on “April 2014

  1. Cathy746books says:

    I was recently at a signing by Scandi crime writer Jo Nesbo but there was no time for nervousness as we were herded past him like cattle to get our books signed! I was once completely struck dumb when meeting the poet Paul Durcan – it was in a professional capacity and I still cringe about how tongue-tied I was!

  2. Naomi says:

    You read some great books this month! Out of your list, I’ve only read The Storied Life. I liked it, and my review for it will be up soon. There are so many reviews of it around, but I still like reading them all, because everyone points out different things. I still have yet to see someone say they didn’t like it.

    Many of these other books are on my to-read list, and I hope to get to them soon! I’m curious about The Other Typist. It’s been on my radar for a long time, but I haven’t heard a lot about it.

    • kmn04books says:

      Amazing! I’ll have to check out your review when it comes out! I like reading all of the different reviews too because then I can comment on them and gush about the book πŸ˜› I haven’t heard of anyone disliking it either!

      I think I read somewhere that The Other Typist is being made into a movie (or at least was optioned for one?). I haven’t heard too much about it either so I’m hoping I can dive in soon. Thanks for your comment! πŸ™‚

    • kmn04books says:

      I love being busy when it comes to books! I have a few events for May, a few giveaways (!!), and hopefully a lot of reading! I finally got an e-reader so now I can carry multiple books in my bag at once! How was your April? πŸ™‚

    • kmn04books says:

      I was skeptical before starting Great too, but I went in with the mentality that this book was going to act as an introduction to the story and encourage young adults/new readers to read the original work. Benincasa sticks pretty closely to the events of The Great Gatsby, so I think she succeeded in that way. The ending had my heart pumping just as the original did, so I commend her for getting the feeling right. Have you read it yet? Hopefully you’ll change your mind if you end up giving it a try!

Leave a Reply

