Wishlist Wednesday | The Lowland

The Lowland Jhumpa Lahiri Book Cover

Source: Goodreads

[Wishlist Wednesday is a book blog hop hosted by Pen to Paper]

It would be hypocritical of me to pledge to read more diversely and not add a few new novels to my wishlist. So today I’ve decided to commit to reading The Lowland by Jumpa Lahiri.

Set in the 1960s, The Lowland is a story of two brothers who are physically similar but end up leading very different lives. One brother, Udayan, stays in India to join a rebellion while Subhash leaves to do scientific research in America. But when something happens to Udayan, Subhash returns home to pick up the pieces.

I have heard a lot about The Lowland and Lahiri over the past few months. I’ve learned that Lahiri is a very talented short story writer, and I’ve heard a lot of praise for this book. Personally, I’m really looking forward to reading this book because I am fascinated by family dynamics and I’m very curious (and nervous) to find out what happens to Udayan in his quest to “eradicate inequality and poverty” (quoted from Goodreads). Besides reading about different cultures and families, I am also very interested in reading books that deal with class issues. Because of this, I think The Lowland is a great place for my project to start! It’s so easy to get wrapped up in our immediate surroundings that we often forget that everyone around the world has their problems too. I know that this is a fictional piece of writing but it is important that these other voices be heard and I can’t wait to get started.

Have you read The Lowland or Lahiri’s other works? What are you planning to add to your bookshelf this week?

8 thoughts on “Wishlist Wednesday | The Lowland

  1. Enbrethiliel (@Enbrethiliel) says:

    +JMJ+

    Hello! I’m here from Pen to Paper.

    The Lowland does sound interesting! if I were to read it, I’d hope that the two brothers also personify two opposing social trends or movements in India, so that what the novel says about family can double as commentary on a whole country. =)

    • kmn04books says:

      I’m definitely very intrigued by how this will all play out! I’m hoping to get it soon. Once I do I’ll be sure to post a review! Thank you for your comment 🙂

  2. The Paperback Princess says:

    I loved The Lowland. Lahiri is a beautiful and deliberate writer. Some find the story slow moving- I thought it was well thought out, a collection of every day things culminating in the story of a family. Hope you enjoy it! I’m so glad that we’re all starting to twig on the fact that there needs to be more diversity in our reading!

    • kmn04books says:

      Definitely! That’s why I think that the BookCon debacle was actually productive in some ways. So happy to hear that Lahiri is a deliberate writer. If it fits into the whole, I don’t mind slow moving parts too much. Thank you for commenting! Can’t wait to get my hands on The Lowland.

Leave a Reply

