Monday Musings | Reading Habits #1

 

476ed-img_7423

For today’s Monday Musing I want to talk about reading habits. I’m always curious to hear how other bloggers and readers read because it’s such a simple thing to do but everyone seems to have their own way of doing it – some people dog-ear their pages, some annotate, some keep their pages clean and pristine. It’s all so fascinating to me. So, I decided to start a new mini-segment under my Monday Musings category: Reading habits. I want to hear everyone’s reading quirks and share mine as well.

Today my reading habit question is: How many books do you read at once?

I often come across readers and bloggers who read more than one book at once. I always look at them with awe and respect. I’m the type of person who can never seriously read more than one book at a time for fear of getting things mixed up or taking away from the reading experience. I often find this to be a hindrance to my reading rather than an advantage, because I always have to get through my first book before starting a second. If only I could read more quickly! However, I do think that reading one book at a time has its perks. I can get fully immersed in the world I’m reading about with no other literary distractions. It allows me to focus on the story, the writing, the characters etc without having to think about anything else.

So, back to you! Do you read one book at a time like me, or do you always have a few books going at once? Is there a specific reason why you read this way? Let me know! I’m excited to hear everyone’s thoughts. 🙂

16 thoughts on “Monday Musings | Reading Habits #1

  1. Charleen says:

    Yes! I love that total immersion. I’m definitely a one-at-a-time reader as well.

    The only exception is if the second book is a re-read… and sometimes I’ll do this just because of logistics, if I’m going out of town and I want to bring a book, but I know I’m not going to have much time to read and don’t want to read my current book in little fits and starts… then I’ll bring an old favorite, just so I have something to read, but it’s not something where I need to shut out the world for hours. Or if I’m doing a re-read, and suddenly I get a book I want to read instead, I can set the re-read aside for days and come back to it when I’m done, which isn’t something I can normally do. But because I’m already familiar with the story, I feel like I have this extra flexibility with re-reads.

    Or, for example, the readathon this weekend… it’s suggested to have different things to jump around to so it doesn’t get monotonous, but I’d never be able to do that with new-to-me books, it would feel all wrong for me.

    It’s still not something I do often, but re-reads are my way of getting around the issue when it comes up.

    • kmn04books says:

      The re-reads route makes sense to me! The “issue” for me is definitely when both of the texts are new. I’m definitely much more flexible when the second book is a re-read. But nowadays I have so many new books I want to read I very rarely re-read old books even though I’d like to. 😛

  2. Shannon @ River City Reading says:

    I regularly have two books at a time going, but I try to make sure that they’re quite different (if possible, I even try to make one fiction and one non-fiction). For some reason, I just have a hard time doing just one! But I’ve found if I throw a third into the mix it starts to slow my reading down and mix me up, so I see where you’re coming from.

    • kmn04books says:

      Haha I think maybe I just have a one track mind! I think having one fiction and one non-fiction would make it easier though. I have no idea how I got through university with this habit! it must’ve developed afterwards 😛

  3. Sandra says:

    It’s funny that you chose this topic today. I was looking at some of my friend’s posts on Goodreads and was surprised at how many of them are reading two books at once! I am definitely a one at a time reader. I would not be able to concentrate on two or more stories at a time. At the same time, I often rush through a mediocre book to get to a better one when I could probably put it aside and get back to it later. In this situation, I guess I would kind of be reading more than one book.

    • kmn04books says:

      I have definitely rushed through what I thought were mediocre books to get to the next one. Sometimes I’m even guilty of rushing through good books because I was so excited for another book. In that sense I feel like reading two books at once would be more productive. If a book is reaaallly dragging then sometimes I’ll make an exception and revisit it later but that’s pretty rare. I’m surprised too by how many people read more than one book at once!

    • kmn04books says:

      Wow! It seems like a lot of people read more than one book at once! It makes sense to have one physical book and one e-book; I feel like separating the two would be easier for some reason. Thanks for commenting!

    • kmn04books says:

      Haha wow! I don’t think I would be able to handle four books. But I think you’re right – if something’s not compelling it’s easier to set it aside and start a different book!

  4. ebookclassics says:

    I used to be afraid of reading more than one book because I didn’t think my brain could retain the details. Now I regularly read multiple books because I commit myself to way too many reading events. deadlines, etc. So far I’ve been able to manage and still enjoy the books! 🙂

  5. Rebecca Scaglione - Love at First Book says:

    I’m a little late for this post, but still commenting anyway! I do both. Sometimes I have only one book going, but a lot of times I try to have a fiction and a nonfiction. Right now, I have a fiction book, a short story book, a nonfiction book, and an audiobook that’s a classic, so I’m kind of at my bookish limit! 😀

    • kmn04books says:

      Thanks for commenting, Rebecca! It’s never too late 😉 Wow! You’re reading/listening to a lot! I think it helps keeping the genres different when reading more than one book at once but I still don’t think I could do so many at once haha.

  6. M. from Backlist Books says:

    This is a great topic to discuss, because I feel like everyone has their own style of reading and finds it hard to do things differently!

    I tend to start a bunch of books at a time, and flit back and forth between them until one of them really grabs my attention. Then I’ll focus on that one until I finish it before going back to the others. I often end up abandoning some of the books I’ve started, and don’t necessarily go back to them for awhile – if at all. I think this is partly because I’m a mood reader, so I want to read a book that appeals to me on a certain day. If what I’ve been reading just leaves me feeling “meh,” I’ll start something new. I have gotten better at focusing on one and finishing more, but I still have at least two or three partially-read books on my bedside table!

    • kmn04books says:

      It’s been really interesting hearing everyone’s responses! That sounds like a good way to eliminate the books that you’re aren’t that interested in reading! I definitely have some unfinished/abandoned books beside my bed… I hope to get back to them though, because I loved the authors’ previous works but just couldn’t get into them this time around. It’s just so hard to push through books that aren’t really working for you when you have so much to read! Thank you for commenting! I don’t think I’m a mood reader so it’s interesting to hear from someone else’s perspective!

Leave a Reply

