One More Page Nominated for A Liebster Award!

Karen One More Page Blog

Today I woke up to the wonderful news that Shannon from River City Reading has nominated me for a Liebster Award! Shannon has been nothing but supportive and helpful to me since we met online, so it’s extra special that this nomination comes from her. Thank you Shannon!

With the nomination came 11 questions so get ready to learn 11 new things about me! Here goes…

1. Do you have a specific way that you organize your bookshelves? If so, what made you choose that system?
I actually don’t have a real bookshelf right now! I have a row of books on my window ledge and then a few stacks on a table and around the house. There are a few that are in a cupboard, but they’re not really displayed. When I did have a bookshelf, I organized them by publisher and then alphabetically. I like the look of having the same publisher’s books together (especially if they’re classics) and it would feel wrong to not have them lined up alphabetically (by author)!

2. How has your reading changed since you started blogging, if it has at all?
Great question! My reading has actually changed in a few ways. I keep more notes if I’m reading a book that I know I’m going to review now, and I pay more attention to how I’m feeling and how characters/plots are developing. Another big difference is that when I don’t like a book, blogging has forced me to think more critically about why. Before I started blogging I could easily write it off but I like that I have to justify my answers in a coherent way now.

The other thing that has changed is my reading taste! I used to stick to a few specific genres, but since blogging and reading reviews on other blogs, I’ve started reading other genres. I’m really happy about this because I could have been missing out on some amazing books otherwise! An example that comes to mind is Sara Benincasa’s Great. I’m not sure if I would have heard about it/picked it up if I hadn’t heard about it through blogging/Twitter.

3. Do you ever wish you had chosen a different career/education path? If so, what?
I went to school for English Literature and I’m so happy that I did. Reading and thinking critically about books is my passion (thus, the blog) and I hope to pursue a career in publishing, so I have no regrets at all! I’m hoping to go back to school at some point for publishing, but I love my major and am glad I did it!

4. If you had to guess, what percentage of your  reading do you think is done in print, e-book and audiobook?
Right now I read 100% print books. I am hoping to get an e-reader at some point, but I haven’t gotten around to it yet. I used to listen to audiobooks a bit more but I find a lot of narrators to be hit or miss, so I prefer reading it on my own.

5. How did you choose the name for your blog?
I actually had a bit of a tough time coming up with a blog name. It was originally called kmn04books but I felt like I needed something more accessible. I was discussing this with my boyfriend when he suggested One More Page and I loved it! I feel like we’ve all felt the urge to read just one more page before bed/going to work/etc so I think it’s really fitting.

6. What was the best book you read last year?
Last year I graduated from university and took a hiatus from reading. It was unintentional but it resulted in me not reading very much. So I’ll go with Ruth Ozeki’s A Tale for the Time Being, a book I read early this year and loved. It was published last year, so I hope that counts!

7. What was the last movie you watched? Did you like it? Were you at home or in a theater?
The last movie I watched was Captain America: The Winter Soldier. I liked it! I don’t know very much about the Marvel universe but it was a very entertaining movie. I watched it in the theatre.

8. Do you read hardcover books with or without the dust jacket? Why?
I always read hardcover books without the dust jacket. I don’t know if it’s just me but I always find a way to crumple it up if I keep it on! I also feel like having the dust jacket on makes the book feel more delicate so I take it off to read more comfortably. I actually touched on this a few days ago when I asked whether readers had a preference between hardcover and paperbacks. You can still cast your vote here. 😉

9. What is a book you haven’t read but everyone keeps saying you should?
The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt and The Orenda by Joseph Boyden. I’ve actually added them both to my mental TBR list but I just haven’t gotten around to it yet! The Goldfinch just won the Pulizter Prize for Fiction the other day and The Orenda won Canada Reads earlier this year, so a lot of people have been reminding me that I still need to read them!

10. What upcoming 2014 book are you most excited about reading?
I think I’m most excited for Terry Fallis’ No Relation! It’s about a guy who works in publishing and whose name is Ernest Hemmingway. I haven’t read anything by Fallis yet but from what I’ve heard he’s a really witty writer! So I’m really excited about this. I listened to chapter one on his website and I can’t wait to have the print copy in my hands.

11. What book do you wish everyone would read?
There are so many! I think the Harry Potter series goes without saying, but I also think that everyone should read Ruth Ozeki’s A Tale for the Time Being because it’s such a beautiful and meaningful book. I also have a soft spot for Oscar Wilde, so I always recommend The Picture of Dorian Gray too!

Thank you again for nominating me, Shannon! That was a lot of fun. I hope you don’t mind me using some of your questions! For my nominations I choose Honey, I’m Reading! and Jaaron at Worn Pages and Ink to win the Liebster Award!

My questions:
1. How long have you been blogging? What made you want to start book blogging?
2. Have you always been a reader or was reading a hobby that developed as you grew up?
3. Do you have any books that you attribute your love of reading to? Are there any titles that were really influential to you?
4. What is your favourite part about having a book blog?
5. Do you have a specific way that you organize your bookshelves? If so, what made you choose that system?
6. What is one thing about you that most of your readers don’t know?
7. Do you annotate your books or do you like to keep them clean and pristine?
8. Does a book’s cover influence whether you pick up the book or not? Have you read any books despite not liking its cover and been surprised by how much you liked the contents?
9. Where is your favourite place to read?
10. What upcoming 2014 book are you most excited to read?
11. What book do you wish everyone would read?

I can’t wait to read your answers!
11 thoughts on “One More Page Nominated for A Liebster Award!

  1. Shannon @ River City Reading says:

    I absolutely LOVE the thought of arranging books by publisher – the thought of seeing my shelves with all the spines lined up that way has me even considering a serious overhaul. Maybe. That would take a long time.

    Loved reading your responses, glad you were able to do this!

  2. Leah says:

    Congrats! It’s so interesting that you used to organize your books by publisher. I tried that once (just because reorganizing my books is fun), but then I didn’t know where anything was! It’s an interesting way to organize because I don’t think most readers really pay attention to publishers. I only do because of blogging. But I’ll bet it was really pretty!

    Yay for Harry Potter and A Tale for the Time Being!

    • kmn04books says:

      Thank you!

      I think it was easier for me to organize my shelves that way because most of my books were classics. Nothing can beat seeing those spines all lined up. I wonder if it would still be functional if I arranged all of my new books that way? Something I definitely couldn’t do is organize my books by colour – I think it would be really difficult to find everything!

  3. wornpagesandink says:

    I love your passion for A Tale for the Time Being! It’s such a great and complex book. I completely agree with you that everyone should read it.

    The Terry Fallis book that you’re interested in reading sounds like it could be really good. It has 4 stars on Goodreads and the plot is comical. I think I’ll have to check it out as well!

    • kmn04books says:

      Haha it’s just SUCH a great book! I’m really excited about the Terry Fallis book. If you like listening to audio books, he has a link on his website where he’s reading it out chapter by chapter! He already has quite a few chapters up. I’m not a huge audio book listener but he’s a good narrator and I loved what I heard!

  4. Jeann @ Happy Indulgence says:

    Great to know you a bit better, your set up for books on display sounds lovely! It is the best thing ever to have a book shelf. I love how reviewing books makes us think critically and pinpoint exactly what it was about the book that we didn’t quite enjoy.

    • kmn04books says:

      I know! I need to get a bookshelf ASAP. And yeah, I’ve learned so much about reading just by reviewing and reading other blogs’ reviews. That alone makes being a book blogger worth it. Of course, meeting and talking to other bloggers like you is a perk!

Leave a Reply

