On My Bookshelf | Three New Books!

On My Bookshelf

I’m so excited to add these books to my bookshelf this week! From left to right: Solomon Northup’s 12 Years a Slave, Alena Graedon’s The Word Exchange, and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s Americanah.

Out of the three books I think I’m most excited about The Word Exchange – I even featured it in this week’s Wishlist Wednesday post! It’s all about the death of print; humans no longer read the printed word and they read off of Memes (hand-held digital devices) instead. It’s any booklovers nightmare! To say I’m intrigued is and understatement.

I’m also really excited about Americanah. According to its back cover, it’s “a remarkable novel of race, love, and identity.” I really love novels that focus on race relations so I’m sure I’ll love this book as well!

12 Years a Slave has been on my radar since it was made into a movie. I have a bit of a week stomach so I haven’t watched the movie yet (and to be honest I’m not sure if I’ll be able to) but I’m really looking forward to reading the book. Plus, it’s always better to read the book before seeing the movie, isn’t it?

Have you read any of these books? Did you add anything new to your bookshelf this week? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

