Wishlist Wednesday | The Word Exchange

The Word Exchange

Source: Google

[Wishlist Wednesday is a book blog hop hosted by Pen to Paper]

This week I’m so excited to add The Word Exchange by Alena Graedon to my wishlist! I’m actually cheating a little because I have it ordered and am just waiting for it to arrive, but I just had to profess my preemptive love for this dystopian novel! According to Goodreads:

In the not-so-distant future, the forecasted “death of print” has become a reality. Bookstores, libraries, newspapers, and magazines are things of the past, and we spend our time glued to handheld devices called Memes that not only keep us in constant communication but also have become so intuitive that they hail us cabs before we leave our offices, order takeout at the first growl of a hungry stomach, and even create and sell language itself in a marketplace called the Word Exchange.

As a book lover, you can see why I would be interested in this book. With all of these bookstores closing (6 closed/announced closure in 6 weeks, in fact) losing the printed word is a legitimate worry. I don’t know what it is about dystopian fiction that is so thrilling, but I really enjoy it as a genre. I can’t wait for my copy to arrive!

Have you read The Word Exchange? Did you add anything to your wishlist this week?

7 thoughts on “Wishlist Wednesday | The Word Exchange

  1. Michelle @ Book Coffee Breathe says:

    This makes me think of Fahrenheit 451. It sounds really good!

    In addition to the closure of bookstores making this a legitimate worry, don’t we already have those devices the book is calling “memes”? Our addiction to instant, mindless entertainment and constant contact with others is killing our desire to read. So, so sad!

    Let us know how you like the book! 🙂

    • kmn04books says:

      Exactly! It really seems like everything in the book could be possible and that makes it so much more worrying. Thank you for commenting and I’m sure I’ll have a review post up once I’m done 🙂

Leave a Reply

