Monday Musings | Solid Colour Book Covers

vintage-21-modern_classics[1]

Source: Google

Last week I mused about decorative/deckled edges in my Monday Musings post and today I want to talk about another aspect of book design: the cover!

A few weeks ago I noticed at The World’s Biggest Bookstore there was a section dedicated to classics that had a solid colour book cover and pages (only on the edges though, I believe). It was very bold and striking and immediately grabbed my attention. As someone who consciously tries to not judge a book by a cover (but fails most of the time), I couldn’t help but wonder how popular this kind of design was. I can see how it would look really nice stacked side by side on a bookshelf, but at the same time I like having books with a bit of a personality and I find that this type of design detracts from it. Being more of a traditional book buyer (I mentioned my dislike of movie tie-in covers here), I probably wouln’t pick up a classic with this cover, but I wonder what your thoughts are.

Do you have any books with this cover design? Do you think it adds to/takes away from the book’s appeal or are you neutral on the matter? Let me know in the comments; I would love to hear your thoughts!

2 thoughts on “Monday Musings | Solid Colour Book Covers

  1. Charleen says:

    I kind of like it. It’s not the most eye-catching, but it stands out in its own way. For classics I tend to like simple covers like this, or at least an abstract design. It’s kind of how you were saying before that you don’t like movie stars on your book covers… with classics, I almost feel like any attempt to put faces to the characters just doesn’t work for me. They’re classics. The words will speak for themselves.

    • kmn04books says:

      That’s fair! I find that I shy away from book covers with actual photographs (eg. movie tie-ins) for the same reason you do but I think this is too plain for my taste. I don’t really mind it if it’s a painted portrait on the cover though, especially if it’s Victorian because I guess I can’t really visualize how the character would be in “our world”. However, it definitely depends on the cover. Thanks for sharing your thoughts! I find it so interesting to see what works for people and what doesn’t. 🙂

Leave a Reply

