March 2014

Books bought (up to April 2nd) :

*The Bear by Claire Cameron
*Boy, Snow, Bird by Helen Oyeyemi
*The Complete Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm Vol. I by Jack Zipes (translator)
*I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella
*Mythology by Edith Hamilton
*One More Thing by B.J. Novak
*The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller
*Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald by Therese Anne Fowler

Books received (up to April 2nd):

*The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin (Thank you Penguin Canada!)

Books read (up to April 2nd):

*The Bear by Claire Cameron (Update: review here)
*Boy, Snow, Bird by Helen Oyeyemi (review)
*One More Thing by B.J. Novak (review)
*The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller
*The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin (review)
*Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald by Therese Anne Fowler

Wow. This month was a month full of mini accomplishments for me. I participated in my first blogging challenge, Bloggiesta, which you can read about here. I had so much fun participating in the mini-challenges and Twitter chats and I got a lot of stuff done for my blog. Best of all, I met a lot of new bloggers! Thank you to everyone who visited my site, subscribed/followed, and gave me advice! I feel so welcomed by the book blogging community and I could not be more thankful. During Bloggiesta, one of my goals was to add a few new pages. I ended up adding three: My TBR Pile, Review Archive, and Contact Me. Also this month, I was lucky enough to receive The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry from Penguin Canada to review! It’s a charming book about book lovers and book sellers. You can read my full review here.

I read quite a bit this month (for my standards, anyway) and I fell in love with many of the books that I read. One More Thing was a pleasant surprise for me and Boy, Snow, Bird was just as amazing as I had expected. I’m working on reviews for The Bear, Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald and possibly The Song of Achilles, so feel free to follow my blog, add me on Facebook, or Tweet to me to stay updated!

This month has been such a learning experience and I’m incredibly excited to continue blogging and meeting more book lovers. 🙂

How was your month? Did you read any spectacular books? I would love to hear from you!

4 thoughts on “March 2014

  1. Charleen says:

    March was a bit of a disappointment. Most of what I read just fell into that “good but not great” category. My surprise favorite was And the Mountains Echoed. Not my usual kind of book, but I really enjoyed it.

    • kmn04books says:

      That’s too bad that March was a disappointing to you, but that’s great about And the Mountains Echoed. I looked it up on Goodreads and am not sure if it’s my kind of book either, but now I’m intrigued. I’ll have to keep a look out for it next time I’m in the bookstore!

  2. April @ The Steadfast Reader says:

    I keep hearing amaaaaazing things about A.J. Fikry. I was too late for a U.S. ARC. C’est la vie, I’ll probably capitulate and buy it at some point. Hamilton’s ‘Mythology’ was (weirdly) one of the defining texts of my high school education.

    *high five* English Lit majors! 🙂

    • kmn04books says:

      Yaay for English Lit majors! That’s amazing that Mythology was such a big part of your education – I really wish that I had picked it up sooner! I feel like I missed a lot of good references b/c I’m so unfamiliar with the stories. Luckily, that’s about to change!

      A.J. Fikry was so great. I don’t even know what else I can say about it. It’s a really quick read, so it’s nice if you want a break between bigger/heavier reads! Let me know if you end up checking it out! 😀

Leave a Reply

