Monday Musings… | Decorative Edges

As I’m sure you’ve noticed, there’s a growing trend in book publishing: decorative edges (Update: I just learned from Jenny @bookverve that the proper term is “deckled edges.” Thanks Jenny!). Decorative edges are jagged as opposed to the traditionally smooth ones. I’m not sure exactly when this started being the norm but over the past couple of months I have seen more and more books with this look.

Though it is a purely aesthetic addition I happen to really like decorative edges. I love feeling the roughness of the pages and the texture it adds to the book. The one downside to it though is that it makes it harder to read the book with one hand (a common practice for me, especially if I’m reading on my commute). Without the smooth edges it’s more difficult to flip the pages and they often stick together due to the pages’ unevenness. Though it’s inconvenient at times, I do enjoy stroking the rough edges so I welcome this trend and hope it stays.

What are your thoughts? Do you like the decorative edges or would you prefer the smooth, uniform ones? Do you find them aesthetically pleasing? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

12 thoughts on “Monday Musings… | Decorative Edges

  1. bookmammal says:

    I used to work in a bookstore, and every once in awhile someone would want to return a book because they thought it was defective–all because of the uneven, decorative edges. We’d have to explain that it was intentional, not a defect!

  2. Janine says:

    I like the edged pages for it is harder to get a papercut from those pages, where as I have had a fair share of paper cuts from the smooth pages.

  3. Leah says:

    I like deckled edges for certain books. Way back in the day, pages were printed on large sheets of paper that were folded to the book’s size, so readers had to use a special knife to slice the pages apart while reading. Deckled edges mimic the resulting aesthetic. I like edges like this on classics; it lends an air of authenticity and helps you imagine you’re reading the book when it was written, but it can be annoying on books set in the modern day. The aesthetic doesn’t really fit, and like you said, deckled edges make a book more difficult to thumb through.

  4. Terri @ Alexia's Books and Such says:

    I think the decorative edges are pretty, but I really have no preference. When I worked in a bookstore years ago, I had some customers who thought the books were defective and wanted to exchange them too! Seems funny now, but they just wouldn’t believe me that the publisher meant to do that. *L*

Leave a Reply

