Monday Musings… | Movie Tie-in Covers

F Scott Fitzerald The Great Gatsby Movie Cover

For today’s Monday Musing I thought I would talk about movie tie-in book covers! I love the fact that so many great books (such as The Great Gatsby, pictured above) are being made into movies. It’s always a little scary for the fans of the books because there’s always that pressure of living up to certain standards but I think we can all agree that it’s a fun thing to have happen. I personally have benefited from books becoming movies because it enriches my reading. For example, I had no idea that 12 Years a Slave was a book – now it’s on my TBR list! I also think that it’s really exciting to see certain stories on the big screen. I was SO excited to watch the Harry Potter series when they came out – imagining all the magic in my head was fun, but seeing it was so cool!

With that being said, it comes to no surprise that publishers would want to republish the books as a movie tie-in. As I’m sure you all know, movie tie-in covers usually feature a version of the movie poster, like the one I posted above. It’s meant to attract new readers to pick up the book as the movie is getting buzz and give collectors something cool to add to their bookshelf.

So what do I think about them? I very rarely buy movie tie-in covers. I’m not a huge fan of having celebrities on the covers of my books so I prefer the original cover designs. I know I shouldn’t be judging books by their covers (especially when I already know the books are good) but it’s just something that I can’t help.

What do you think? Are you a fan of movie tie-ins?

4 thoughts on “Monday Musings… | Movie Tie-in Covers

  1. Charleen says:

    Nope. Not a fan. At all. I’m wary of cover redesigns in general, though some can be for the better… but I’d much rather have an original cover (even if it’s not THE original cover) than a movie version.

    • kmn04books says:

      I generally don’t mind redesigned covers but for some reason I’m not a fan of movie posters/celebrities on my books. That being said, I wouldn’t pass up a book if the movie tie-in cover is my only option.

Leave a Reply

