Wishlist Wednesday | March 12th

Source: Goodreads

[Wishlist Wednesday is a book blog hop hosted by Pen to Paper where we will post about one book per week that has been on our wishlist for some time, or just added that we can’t wait to get off the wishlist and onto our wonderful shelves.]

My first blog hop! I have been meaning to write about my TBR pile so when I typed “Wishlist Wednesday” into Google I was so excited to find this come up! I really want to start blogging more regularly so having something like this will make the process much easier (and a lot more fun)!

For the past few weeks I have been dying to get my hands on Helen Oyeyemi’s Boy, Snow, Bird. When I read the blurb on the dust jacket I was immediately intrigued. Here’s what I could pull from Amazon: “From the prizewinning author of Mr. Fox, the Snow White fairy tale brilliantly recast as a story of family secrets, race, beauty, and vanity.” 

First of all, anything about race relations will almost always interest me. I remember reading Nella Larsen’s Passing and finding it so wonderfully written. I have high hopes for Boy, Snow, Bird as it also deals with characters who are passing and are ultimately found out. The fact that it’s also a reworking of Snow White is almost too exciting for me to handle.

With that being said, I will soon be able to take this book off of my wishlist and onto my bookshelf! I finally took the plunge and bought it online. Now my wish is for it to come sooner!

What book are you currently coveting? Have you read Boy, Snow, Bird?

9 thoughts on “Wishlist Wednesday | March 12th

  1. Dreamer says:

    Nice and pretty blog! I am not currently reading anything but this blog is making me want to actually finish a book!

      • kmn04books says:

        If you want to read about a bookish adventure (it’s contemporary and set in San Francisco/New York so it’s not quite fantasy), you should give Robin Sloan’s Mr. Penumbra’s 24-hour Bookstore a go.

        For chick lit, I recently read The Rosie Project and it has been getting a lot of great reviews! It wasn’t exactly my cup of tea but then again I don’t read a lot of chick lit.

        Let me know if you end up reading anything! I would love to get new recommendations as well 🙂 Thanks for commenting!!

Leave a Reply

